top of page

Morel Season Is HERE!

This year I am starting my morel hunting season on March 15. Seems like April is the month for morel season in our area here. This year I have a whole new game plan. I know we have signs that they would be up, but there are just too many missing in my opinion too go right now. Also we do have some snow on the way...

Also this year I will try a few signs different so I do not end up going too late. The old timers always said it is time to go morel hunting when the oak trees leaves are the size of a squirrels ear. I will be going for sure on that one sign. I like to go when I see evidence that they are up, not due too what the temp is outside on a certain day. Ground temperatures have a lot too do with when they come up.

I am sure that the best time is in April, but this year like last year I will be going in March. Reminder i started last year on March 1. You guys think that we have an unusual warm spell now. Believe it or not last year it was warmer. I will check all areas that I thought looked good last year first then will try new spots. Then rotate between them both. Good luck and I hope too see some posts! The Morel in the picture I found towards the end of April last year. And a Roadkill at that! lol


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page